singers

I love this song.

I grew up being told I was related to Johnny Cash through his wife, June Carter. I have no way of knowing if that’s true. My family is from the hills of East Tennessee and most are musical, so I suppose it could be true. What I do know is that music – of mostly all types – makes my heart beat a little faster and my breathing a little easier. I love to sing. I love to listen to music.

I have so many memories from my childhood that involve music. Listening to my mom and her sisters sing southern gospel…all those beautiful harmonies, listening to my dad or his dad pick a guitar and sing. Sometimes, on a Sunday, I’d be lucky enough to be allowed to tag along if my dad’s band had a family- friendly gig. I never realized that everyone else’s life didn’t revolve around music the way mine did. It seemed everyone I knew played, or sang or both.

I discovered I could sing in my preteen years when I’d sing along to my parents records – and later, my own – and hear myself sound like those I was listening to. People would always ask me to sing like Dolly, or Cher or even Billy Joel. It was fun to “move” my voice and emulate them.

I once sang at a high school talent show and again at a county celebration while visiting family in Tennessee on a big stage, but never really felt the urge to sing beyond that until I became a Christian and began attending church regularly. Now, I can’t imagine my life without being a worship leader.

And so this blog begins with a song title. “Did I Shave My Legs For This?” is a song by Deana Carter that I fell in love with during my country phase in the 90’s. It just seems fitting. If you’ve never listened to it, give it a whirl.

Leave a Reply

